The Prince of Peace

Jesus Christ, the Lord, Jehovah, the Only Begotten, Immanuel, Son of Man, Lamb of God, the Firstborn, the Good Shepard, the Holy One of Israel, Messiah, Redeemer, Savior- He, the King of kings, is known by numerous names and titles. I’d like to bring attention to one of His many names, that is the Prince of Peace.

In Mosiah 15:16-18 it says, “how beautiful upon the mountains are the feet of those that are still publishing peace! And again, how beautiful upon the mountains are the feet of those who shall hereafter publish peace, yea, from this time henceforth and forever! And behold, I say unto you, this is not all. For O how beautiful upon the mountains are the feet of him that bringeth good tidings, that is the founder of peace, yea, even the Lord.” To me, this scripture captures the purpose of missionary work and discipleship so well. We publish the peace of Jesus Christ. He is the very founder of peace, and His invitation is to all. He says in John 14:27, “Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.” It is through Him alone that we find real and lasting peace, a peace that transcends any of that which other sources may have to offer.

His peace is not exclusively for those that are members of His church and publishing it does not require a missionary name tag. Just recently a beautiful Easter initiative was released on mormon.org. It’s centered on the Prince of Peace. There you can find all of these awesome videos and great resources that can help us to have more unity in our families, more direction, purpose, joy and peace in our lives. The initiative is only going on until April 16th, so take the time now to check it out and get started!

Even more than that, I would invite each of you as you watch the #PrinceofPeace video to think of who you might be able to share it with. I promise that names will come to mind. Do not doubt yourself, the people you think of will come to you as inspiration from the Holy Ghost. Act on those promptings. Share the video, share the site, share your testimony. Technology makes discipleship all too easy these days and not nearly enough of us use this tool as fully as we could. Who says that peace can’t be published through our facebook, twitter and other social media accounts? I promise that as you take part in this Easter initiative and share it with others, you will personally feel an increase of His peace in your life and so will all those that come into contact with it.

I know the Savior lives. He came to Earth, He worked miracles, He willingly sacrificed Himself for us, He died and now He lives again. Because of Him we all will live again. Because of Him the grave has no victory and death has no sting. For Him, I will forever be grateful. He is the Redeemer of my shortcomings, the Savior of my soul and the Publisher of my peace.

