Feliz Cumpleanos! Mordida! Mordida!

This past week was my dad’s birthday and I was a pretty bummed that I wasn’t going to be able to celebrate with him and the family or even at least call him to wish him a happy birthday. His day is the 22nd and it just so happened that two of my favorite people out here in New Mexico had birthdays on the 21st and the 23rd. As much as I wish I could’ve been celebrating with my family back at home this week, it was nice to feel like I was a part of a family out here too… and I definitely ended up getting my fair share of party-ing.

On the 21st one of our investigator families, Familia Trejo, invited us over for dinner to celebrate Geovana’s birthday. She refers to us missionaries as her niños and niñas, and I love that. The 23rd was Hermana Dominguez’s birthday and she threw an all out party yesterday evening to celebrate. She even took us out shopping last p-day to make sure we had new outfits for her big day. Her family are returning less-actives that have pretty much adopted us.

After lighting the candles and singing happy birthday, it’s Hispanic tradition to chant "Mor-di-da! Mor-di-da! Mor-di-da!" This means "bite it!" because the birthday girl or boy is always suppose to take the first bite of the cake. Usually in the process of doing so, they end up getting their face shoved into it. It’s one of my new favorite traditions.

I’m seriously so blessed to have so many good people in my life, both here in Albuquerque and all of you back at home. As always, thank you for your love, support and prayers. You guys are the best. Les amo con todo mi corazon! and Happy Birthday Dad, I hope it was a good one!

